Seven District 214 Students Named Candidates for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

Seven outstanding students from High School District 214 are among 800 nationwide chosen as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program, one of the country’s highest honors for high schoolers. The prestigious program selects students for their merit in academic achievement, leadership and community service.

The candidates from District 214 are Blaire Weinberg of Buffalo Grove High School, Colleen O’Donnell and Sergey Smirnov of Hersey High School, Alexander DiChristofano and Marisa Romanelli of Prospect High School, Katherine Rohde of Rolling Meadows High School and Zalman Faltushanskiy of Wheeling High School.

Established in 1964, the Presidential Scholars program recognizes graduating high school seniors who distinguish themselves in areas ranging from scholastic excellence to achievement in the performing, visual and creative arts and accomplishments in career and technical education. Student applications are accepted by invitation only, determined by exceptional scores on either the SAT or ACT.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars will review the semifinalists applications in April and select up to 161 Presidential Scholars, who will be flown to Washington D.C. to meet with educators and government officials. Those selected will also receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion at a White House ceremony held in June.

Back to news