District 214 receives 2019 National School Library of the Year Award


High School District 214 is the recipient of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) 2019 National School Library of the Year (NSLY) Award.

Sponsored by Follett, the NSLY Award annually honors a single school or district-wide school library that exemplifies implementation of AASL's “National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries.” District 214 will receive a crystal obelisk – the symbol of school library excellence – and $10,000 toward its school libraries.

“The decisive point for the committee was the depth and richness of the collaboration among the administrators and school librarians,” said Rob Hilliker, award committee chair. “We were also highly impressed by the integration of programming and service delivery with local public libraries, and the rich educational partnerships with local businesses to promote authentic, project-based inquiry learning for their students.”

In District 214, librarians are the forefront of integrating technology into the curriculum and foster a lifelong love of books. District 214 library collections reflect the diversity of students’ passions and interests, and the District’s Education Career Pathway includes librarianship as a specialization.

 “We are so excited to see our awesome librarians recognized for their innovative work and dedication to our students,” said Dr. David R. Schuler, District 214 superintendent. “Our librarians support our rigorous academic curriculum by teaching students how to perform independent inquiry, think critically and solve problems. They are committed to helping students discover their futures and prepare them for postsecondary success.”

As the state’s largest school district, District 214 serves 12,000 students and helps all students learn the skills, acquire the knowledge and develop the behaviors necessary for them to reach their full potential as citizens who can meet the challenges of a changing society. Educators strive to empower students with analytic capabilities, communication skills, problem-solving skills and technological literacy while helping them explore careers and discover their future.

District 214’s schools span eight communities and include Buffalo Grove, Elk Grove, John Hersey, Prospect, Rolling Meadows and Wheeling high schools.

“Our District 214 library team is so proud to represent the District on the national stage and to share this award with all of our stakeholders. We believe that the support we receive from our administration, staff, public libraries, and communities sets us apart from other libraries,” said Dawn Ferencz, head librarian at Elk Grove High School. “This collaborative network allows us to meet the diverse needs of all of our students to guide them in becoming college and career ready.”

The AASL award winners will be honored at the AASL Awards Ceremony during the 2019 ALA Annual Conference. The ceremony will be held from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, June 22. All are welcome to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers during this recognition event.


Back to news