National Merit Scholarship Program Names Buffalo Grove's Commended Students

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NSMC) has recently announced the names of Buffalo Grove High School students who have been identified as Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.  These academically talented young people scored at the highest levels in the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 
Thirteen BGHS students are among the 34,000 commended students in the nation: Gabrielle Arland, Deyana Atanasova, Evan Cochrane, Olivia Cortopassi, Ryan Fulmer, Brian Furman, Saru Garg, Emma Hartnett, Tyler Lubbat, Scott Mahon, Eduardo Morelli, Matthew Rivard, and Julianne Roser.  These students placed in the top five percent of the more than 1.6 million students who took the 2016 PSAT/NMSQT.  These students "show outstanding potential for academic success" in educational opportunities beyond high school and are "a valuable national resource," according to a spokesperson for NSMC.

These students will be recognized at a National Merit Recognition Breakfast at Buffalo Grove High School in late October.  Students will be invited to bring a teacher who has had a significant impact on their academic career while at BGHS to share in the recognition.

Back to news